RSS

Our Wedding Bands

30 Apr

Ok finally another update to this very inactive blog hah. Not that we are lazy, just that really not much updates lately. But for the past few weeks, many of our weekends were spent shopping around/ looking everywhere/ googling online for ideas for our wedding. Miscellaneous stuff like photoshoot locations, photoshoot props, save-the-date ideas, wedding gowns inspirations etc.

However, the main focus was still hunting for our wedding bands (the rings we wear on our fingers, not the group of musicians/singers playing during wedding banquets hah). We went to almost all the big jewellery chains like Soo Kee, Lee Hwa, Goldheart, Love and Co and others. For dear, it is pretty easy – eternity ring (hmm, actually is half eternity ring due to budget contraint and ease of resizing hah), which is available in almost every shop. The challenging part is finding a ring that I like! Out of all the shops, only the “Promise” series of rings from Love and Co. caught my eyes. I like its chunky, simple design. We would have gotten our wedding bands there, if not for the cost. The pair of wedding bands we like cost about $3,300. Gosh.

Hence, we decided to keep our options open and have a visit to The Canary Diamond Company where I had my proposal ring set. They do not actually have a huge range of wedding bands, but they are able to custom-make. The same guy, Alson, served us and we let him know the kind of designs we like. Again, for dear, it is no issue as they have ready stocks of eternity rings for her to try on. However, as it is hard for me to visualise without an actual ring. So he offered to make one for me to try, with no obligations to buy if it is not up to expectations. Pretty good service!

We returned last Saturday when the ring was ready. I felt it was a tad too broad. Hence, I requested for some minor adjustments to the broadness, and also some additions of small diamonds hah. Dear, on the other hand, was pleased with her sparkling half eternity ring, which goes perfectly well with her proposal ring! We paid a deposit of $300 and our rings will be ready in mid-May hah.

What we like about The Canary Diamond – Reasonable price, good service, high quality (the ring feels really solid as compared to those from mainstream jewellery chains, and they use generally good diamonds). I would recommend that shop anytime hah.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2012 in Wedding Miscellaneous

 

18 responses to “Our Wedding Bands

  1. Passer-by

    May 1, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    Hi,

    I chanced upon your blog. I am getting married soon and am looking for wedding bands to buy as well. However I am under tight budget. Can I check how reasonable is Canery price? Can you provide me a range of price that I should reasonably expect? I hope to go there in a week or two to take a look as well.

    Thanks much for your help, appreciate it.

     
  2. Kai Xiang

    May 1, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    Hi, thanks for visiting this blog! Will drop you an email regarding the exact price 🙂

    **Update – Your email bounced. Do drop me an email at carltoneoz@hotmail.com and I will get back to you.

     
  3. mykindofwedding

    May 11, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Hi Kaixiang! Could u email me regarding the price too? Am also looking for wedding bands..preferably something different.. Thanks!

     
    • Kai Xiang

      May 13, 2012 at 5:35 pm

      hello, sent! please check ur mailbox 🙂

       
  4. Charmaine

    October 1, 2012 at 12:45 am

    Hi KaiXiang! Could I too have an estimate on the prices at Canary?
    thanks so much and congratulations on your marriage!

     
    • Kai Xiang

      October 1, 2012 at 7:28 am

      Hello Charmaine, I have just dropped you an email 🙂

       
  5. Serene

    October 4, 2012 at 2:17 am

    Hi,

    I’m interested to know the price range as well lol~ would you mind email me too? Thanks a lot!

     
    • Kai Xiang

      October 4, 2012 at 7:33 am

      Sure Serene, email just sent!

       
  6. Wendy

    October 11, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    Hi, Kai Xiang,

    I’m very much interested on the canary customizes rings.. could you pls share with me your wedding band price range and your solitaire setting had costed. Thanks a mio!!

     
    • Kai Xiang

      October 11, 2012 at 10:50 pm

      Hi Wendy, I have dropped you an email! Thanks for visiting the blog!

       
  7. Chris Fang

    October 30, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    Hi Kai Xiang,

    I felt happy for you when i read through your journey of wedding. It certainly give me more room for ideas for my wedding.
    I m very much interested to know the canary range as well… intend to go for proposal ring and wedding band together. would you mind giving me the range for both? thanks!

    My email : chrisfang86@gmail.com

     
    • Kai Xiang

      October 30, 2012 at 11:47 pm

      Hi Chris, I have dropped you an email regarding Canary. Thanks for visiting the blog!

       
      • Alvin

        December 20, 2012 at 9:25 am

        Hi. May I know the price range of Canary Diamonds if I wish to customise the wedding bands? Thank you.

         
      • Kai Xiang

        December 22, 2012 at 12:02 am

        Hi Alvin, you’ve got mail!

         
  8. ariel

    September 8, 2013 at 10:14 pm

    Hi,
    Would like to check with you what is the price range of the wedding bands from Canary. Thanks

    Rgds,
    Ariel

     
    • Kai Xiang

      September 10, 2013 at 12:15 am

      Hi Ariel, I have just sent you an email 🙂

       
  9. Jan

    September 28, 2015 at 5:56 pm

    hi! chanced upon your very informative blog! do you mind sharing how much it cost for the setting for engagement ring and for the wedding bands from canary? also, is buying the diamond online from white flash better than instore? is it better priced?

     
    • Kai Xiang

      September 30, 2015 at 7:38 pm

      Hi Jan, if I recall correctly, setting of ring cost about $600. Of course it will depend on the design you choose. As for buying diamond online, price is definitely more attravctive and there are more choices. But you cant feel and touch it and is also more troublesome than buying from local stores. Hope this helps!

       

Leave a comment