RSS

The Red Mailbox

29 Nov

I have been hunting high and low for those vintage-looking red mailbox to use it as our Angbao box. I finally came across someone selling it a few weeks back on Carousell, an iPhone app to shop and sell stuff. The price quoted by the seller was $100 for a gently-used one (the seller has only used it once, so it is still in almost mint condition)! I thought that was a little too steep even for a brand new one. Hence, I offered $60 but the deal failed to be closed hah. The lowest the seller could go was $85.

I  was very tempted to be honest. But we decided to think about it and secretly, hoped to find this red mailbox in our upcoming Bangkok trip then hah. Though in our Bangkok trip, we managed to buy some wedding stuff such as cupcake stand ($10 from Chatuchak!), we did not manage to find the red mailbox sadly.

Just when I was about to go for the $85 deal, I chanced upon a shop selling these mailboxes on Facebook! I immediately emailed them to enquire and was so happy to know they are selling it at $59.90 hah. Besides red, they have just launched some other colours as well. All very nice, but we chose red for auspiciousness and timelessness hah.

We headed down to their shop in Haji Lane last Saturday and bought it!

Shop Wonderland at 53 Haji Lane

The shop is called Shop Wonderland, by Wonderland for Detailed Planners. Do drop by this charming little shop for some wedding decor and other finds! In fact, I think Haji Lane is quite a nice place to hunt for such treasures hah. We will soon visit again for our next target: A wedding ring dish for use during our solemnisation.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2012 in Wedding Miscellaneous

 

11 responses to “The Red Mailbox

  1. Ms Tan

    August 6, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    Hi, would you be selling the cupcake stand you got from Bangkok? I am looking for one high and low but all are so expensive. Kindly let me know if you are willing to let go yours. Thanks!

     
    • Kai Xiang

      August 11, 2013 at 11:05 pm

      Hi Ms Tan, I have dropped you a mail 🙂

       
  2. Rachael

    January 16, 2014 at 11:42 pm

    hi kai xiang, would you be letting go of your red mailbox? if so, can i find out the dimensions please? thanks so much! 🙂

     
    • Kai Xiang

      January 18, 2014 at 2:30 pm

      Hi Rachael, I have no intention to sell the red mailbox hah. So sorry about that!

       
  3. chai leng

    July 26, 2014 at 3:33 pm

    hi, do you still have the website which is selling the red mailbox? thanks.

     
  4. Chia

    October 26, 2014 at 12:38 am

    Hi,

    Do you still have this mailbox? Wondering if you are willing to rent this our for my wedding. Do drop me an email, thank you! 🙂

    Silver_kiwi@hotmail.com

     
    • Kai Xiang

      October 27, 2014 at 7:31 am

      Hi Chia, I’ve dropped you an email 🙂

       
  5. JAC

    March 17, 2015 at 1:43 pm

    Hi there, will you be willing to rent the mailbox still?
    TIA!
    leejacc@gmail.com

     
    • Kai Xiang

      March 18, 2015 at 8:14 am

      Hi Jac, unfortunately I can no longer rent the mailbox out as it will be fixed up at our new home this coming weekend! Sorry about that..

       

Leave a comment