RSS

Our Pre-Wedding Photobook Project

09 Sep

I started on the photobook project about 3plus weeks ago, with the software downloaded from Photobook Mart. It is quite a user-friendly software with simple interface. If it is not hard for IT noob like me, it cant be hard for anyone else hah. Right from the beginning, I already have an idea how I want the photobook to be – simple and classy. No fancy frames, no over-cluttering and no artificial effects and wallpapers. Since I am alot more particular on such nitty gritty details (and I think I have better sense in such aspect hah), dear left it to me to do up this photobook before showing her for vetting and approval!

The user-friendly software to create photobook

I have bought a Groupon some time back for $39, which has the value of $108 redeemable from Photobook Mart. Not bad a deal I thought! But I came to realise that to create my ideal photobook, $108 is not enough at all hah.

Using about 100 photos taken by Oh, Dear!, I created a photobook with 50 pages. I enjoyed the whole process playing with the layouts, and to create something pleasing to my eyes. After I was done, I showed it to dear for her inputs, and to get her to suggest some words we can put in some of the white spaces. Slight modifications were done based on her suggestions and we put in some love quotes here and there. Everything was done and finalised about 2 weeks ago! Finally we could click on the “Send to Photobookmart” button hah.

Photobook-making in progress

During checkout, there are many upgrade options available. Our final product:

  • Large landscape debossed hardcover 15″ x 11″ photobook (+$20)
  • Upgrade to Superior Print Quality (+$18)
  • Upgrade  to Premium Textured Matte Paper (+$25)
  • Additional 10 pages (+$20)
  • Shipping by DHL (+$16)

Hence, on top of the Groupon I used, I had to top up a whopping $99, which means my photobook cost $128! Oh man, it better be nice hah.

We were informed it will take 10 – 14 business days to be delivered. Finally, the DHL parcel arrived yesterday morning! I eagerly opened the parcel and the first look of the photobook actually disappointed me.

Our pre-wedding photobook!

The colour of the cover was not what we have expected. It was supposed to be beige/ off-white kind of colour but in reality, it was more like light yellow (it certainly looks more yellowish than the picture above hah). I should have chosen the classic black or dark-brown colour for the cover! But apart from that, everything else is great! I like it that it turned out exactly how I like it to be. The quality is pretty impressive too. Some of the wordings are placed too near the binding though. If not for the cover colour, I would be a very satisfied customer hah. Right now I keep thinking about what could be done to the cover to make it more pleasing to me!

Anyway, it was a fun project and with the 60% off voucher that came with this purchase, it is likely that I will do another photobook for our actual day wedding! Black or dark-brown for the cover this time though hah.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2012 in Wedding Photography & Videography

 

2 responses to “Our Pre-Wedding Photobook Project

  1. Sharen

    November 11, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    Hello, I came across your blog on this Photobookmart entry. I had created a project for my casual shoot. When I created the proof, the quality of the pictures dropped and it turned to be of low resolution but when I see it via the software, it is clear. Do you have the same problem? Or your proof created was actually of high resolution? Thanks.

     
    • Kai Xiang

      November 11, 2013 at 5:23 pm

      Hi Sharen, yes I guess this is how it works! No worries about that, go ahead and print as long as you can confirm your images are all hi-res 🙂

       

Leave a comment